Sweet Connie via Loop

So, today I headed back up to Bogus Basin intending to do two trails I haven’t done yet: a section of Sinker Creek, and Sweet Connie.  The bummer about doing this ride solo is that you have to park near the bottom of Bogus Basin road and ride up to Eastside.  All totaled it really wasn’t that bad.  Total miles was 14 miles of single track and 9.9 miles of road; total of 23.9 miles.  Here are the directions:

Directions: Start up Bogus Basin road.  Once you hit the last stop sign, just after the LDS church, near the elementary school, set your odometer to 0.0.  Continue up BB road and at about 4.7 miles you should see a pullout on the left with a large berm and an opening in the fence (on the North side).  Park here, this is the exit of Sweet Connie.  Start riding up BB road.  At about 9.9 miles (according to my bike computer–which broke today 😐 ) you will hit the entrance to Eastside (Picture #1), just before the Welcome to BB sign.  Head into Eastside and enjoy the single track.  There will be a signed intersection where a trail continues straight, and ES turns left, stay left (Picture #2).

From here, all you have to do is follow the signs from Eastside to Sinker Creek.  The first intersection you come to will be Sinker Creek, and you’ll take it.  Follow this trail, guided by the signs, until you get back to ES (Picture #3), then start following ES again.  Once you finish climbing up ES you will come to a right turn to the intersection of Mr. Big (Picture #8).  If you’ve made it to this intersection you’ve gone about 25 feet too far.  Just before that right turn is a big tree that looks like a great place to stop and have lunch (Picture #5,6).  Go straight to that tree and to the right of it you will see a trail continuing South (Picture #7).  This is the start of Sweet Connie.  Follow Sweet Connie (bearing right when in doubt, or staying on the obvious single track) back to your car.  You really can’t get lost on Sweet Connie.

Bogus Basin Road: Riding from the car to Eastside was something I was kind of dreading.  It’s just under 10 miles of asphalt and hill.  I’ve always found road biking to be a bit dull unless your in a good group going fast, so stuff like this really doesn’t get me excited.  Having said that, I actually had a lot of fun riding up to BB.  It started out kind of boring, and it was a bit of a shock to the body to start climbing so early in a ride, but once I got into my rhythm my mind started to wander while my body and bike carried me to the top.  I wasn’t breaking any speed records…probably averaging between 9 and 10 mph to the top (forgot to check), but I did pass a couple roadies on the way, so that made me feel cool (also got passed by a roadie though).  Halfway up I stopped to stretch, since there’s o real relaxing until you get to the top, but other than that it was a nice grind that I actually really enjoyed.

Sinker Creek: This trail was a lot of fun.  It’s obviously less used than Eastside, so it’s not as worn in, but it’s still a good ride.  You start out going downhill, wending through some trees, dropping between the hills.  There is a fair amount of loose earth in here so it slows you down a bit.  Once you start leveling out a bit there’s a section with real tall grass on either side of the trail, making it hard to see where the trail goes next.  After this section you start climbing again.  You follow several switchbacks and you’ll come to the intersection of DB Connector.  Stay on Sinker Creek and start enjoying the downhill!  This little section is a lot of fun, but it’s short.  It ends at the intersection of Mr. Big and Sinker Creek.  Stay left on Sinker Creek and it’ll take you back to Eastside (Picture #3).

Sweet Connie: This is another instance where I had built up the awesomeness of a trail too much before trying it.  I thought that Sweet Connie was going to be the bee’s knees in the upper echelon of Boise’s down hilling, but in the end I though it was just alright.  I don’t want to be overly pessimistic about some trails, but I think I’ve been pretty spoiled by growing up in Bend.  So here’s what I thought…The top of Sweet Connie is like one big rut.  It’s probably 1/2 to 1 foot deep and requires a lot of focus to keep yourself on your line.  It’s not unfun, but I thought I was going to be able to blast the whole hill (like Hard guy or Three Bears, etc.).  The middle section isn’t bad at all.  There are quite a few loose spots where you’ve got to keep your front wheel from catching and tossing you over your bars, but it’s not terrible.  The latter part of the trail is where things start to get a lot better.  The trail flattens out a bit and gets more flowy.  There are a few trees/shrubs that have overgrown the trail that you need to blow through but they’re no big deal.  There is a section that is pretty rocky and really bumpy that’s kind of fun to pedal through and pick your line.  Then there’s some fast downhill that has got a ton of little bumps on it.  It sounded like my chain was going to rattle its links loose.  The very end of the trail has some more technical rock (one of which I just walked without even attempting), and a short climb back to the car.

I think I’ve learned my lesson with getting overly excited about a trail before riding it.  Everyone really raves about Sweet Connie, but I really don’t feel the need to do it again.  It’s definitely worth a ride, and maybe the style will blow your mind, but it just wasn’t what I was hoping for.

As for the trails around Eastside, I’m still stoked on these.  They are a ton of fun, decently fast, with a good mix of variety.  As of yet I haven’t ever needed my small front chainring either, so it feels like a place where you can spend a fair amount of time exploring.  If you haven’t been out there, check it out.  Don’t worry about getting lost either.  Just grab a Schafer Butte map and follow the signs.

~ by cardwelc on July 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “Sweet Connie via Loop”

  1. Do you still have the GPX for this ride? Also, thanks for making this site. I’m new to the Boise area and your site has been a great resource on how to link trails to make linger and funner rides. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
